top of page
  • 3rsediting

Where does inspiration come from?



Where does inspiration come from?


The word inspiration means the process of being mentally stimulated to do or feel something, especially to do something creative. It also means the drawing in of breath. I suppose this could be interpreted as the ‘Aha!’ gasp when an idea strikes.


My creative brain often generates ideas – usually when I least expect it or am ready for it. I’m sometimes woken in the night by a thought that’s been generated from a dream or a character name that has wandered into my head and screamed, ‘Hello! I need you to write me an adventure.’ That’s why I keep a notepad at the side of the bed. I always think I’m going to remember this bestselling idea in the morning but, in my experience, I rarely do.


Having an open mind can lead to all sorts of concepts springing out of the mundane and ordinary. Look at life with the question: what would happen if …? For example, what would happen if the sofa sprouted wings? What would happen if the cat became Prime Minister? What would happen if we ran out of water?


I recently took inspiration from a TV programme. One little line triggered an idea that got me leaping for a notepad. My brain is now firing like a firework display, pinging characters, situations, baddies and tensions. Excitement is fluttering and soaring through my veins. I’m not going to give away what it was because this might turn into my next book.


But what do you do if inspiration doesn’t strike? Don’t panic! Inspiration can be generated. My current work in progress came out of a process to create ideas. Here’s some suggestions of what you can do:


1. Keep an ideas notebook. Over time make pages of lists. For example, write down things that you like to read about.

2. Write a list of your favourite things and another of things you really dislike.

3. Create a list of places – perhaps they are favourites of yours or somewhere you’d love to visit. They can be real or imagined.

4. Keep an ongoing list of any random thought you have about anything.

5. Write for 10 minutes in a stream of consciousness – whatever comes into your mind. The result might give you an idea.

6. Randomly pick something on Wikipedia and then click on one of the blue highlighted words, which will take you to another page. Keep doing this and gather into a list anything that takes your interest. WARNING: you can lose hours of your life bouncing down rabbit holes!

7. Read, read, read (see previous blog). Many ideas can come out of other books. This doesn’t mean you are going to write your version of the same thing. It’s all about taking a kernel of a concept and twisting it to something that resonates with you. Again, keep this in your ideas book.

8. Pinterest or a real life scrapbook. Keeping visual prompts can really inspire me to come up with something.


This is all preparation. Then, when you’re struggling for an idea for a new book or character or setting, this will provide inspiration. Combining two or three random things from your list can lead to exciting new things. Put some of your words/pictures onto scraps of card face down. Pick up two at random. Ask the question – what would happen if card one was combined with card two?


Hope this has inspired you to be inspired!

Happy writing,

Rae

46 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page